• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

serverside backup to Amazon S3

zeroday

Basic Pleskian
Ok,

shoot me, but I am a scripting newbie, but wanted to share a script I created and used to backup my serverside backups to amazon and remove them afterwards

#!/bin/sh

###################################
### ###
### BACKUP FOR DOMAIN ###
### ###
###################################

DOMAIN=put-here-a-client-name

# $ENVIRONMENTAL VALUE: use basedir for the backups (note my master reseller is called ‘beheer’)
DATADIR=/var/lib/psa/dumps/resellers/beheer/clients

# $ENVIRONMENTAL VALUE: save logfile
LOGS=â€/var/lib/psa/backupscript/log`date +_%d%m`.logâ€

# $ENVIRONMENTAL VALUE: value to xx days, so keep earlier days, can be used daily and modified after testing
REMOVE=$(python s3cmd ls s3://bucketname | grep `date –date=’14 days ago’ +%d%m%Y` | cut -f 4 -d ‘/’)

# first backup the new stuff
python s3cmd put -r –progress -v $DATADIR/$DOMAIN/domains/ s3://bucketname/â€$DOMAINâ€_`date +%d%m%Y`/ >> $LOGS

echo $REMOVE date will be deleted

# delete the object older than (xx) days defined
python s3cmd del s3://bucketname/$REMOVE/*

rm -rf $DATADIR/$DOMAIN/domains/*

in this script I first define the environmental variables to make sure you only need to enter the correct path and ‘client’ name
than the content on your server is put into the bucked on S3, Then old backup removed from S3 and the actual backup deleted from your server to safe space.

Note: probably I need to use a ’sync’ option after the put to make sure all data is correctly put onto the server (kind of validation?) if all is uploaded correctly
there is not an if than else statement, the backup content on server is ALWAYS removed when stuff fails ..