• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

setting up plesk for the first time

S

starving_artist

first, i have read alot of other thread on the forum but i just can't figure out how to set up my domain on my server. im trying to set up my main domain name (dns, name servers etc) and am having problems. I'm not sure exactly what I need to do.

I just bought a virtual server with ipower and plesk is included.

i have always had other companys host my site i have never used a dedicated server before.

mydomain.com is registered with register.com and I changed the dns to:
ns1.mydomain.com
ns2.mydomain.com

at register.com, I registered my new domain host. ns1.mydomain.com = my ip address
ns2.mydomain.com = my ip address

these are the dns records in plesk for mydomain.com

scottthornton.com. NS ns1.scottthornton.com.
scottthornton.com. NS ns2.scottthornton.com.
scottthornton.com. A 72.22.80.72
webmail.scottthornton.com. A 72.22.80.72
mail.scottthornton.com. A 72.22.80.72
ns1.scottthornton.com. A 72.22.80.72
ns2.scottthornton.com. A 72.22.80.72
ftp.scottthornton.com. CNAME scottthornton.com.
www.scottthornton.com. CNAME scottthornton.com.
scottthornton.com. MX (10) mail.scottthornton.com.
72.22.80.72 / 24 PTR scottthornton.com.

it's been over 24 hours since i changed everything on register.com and still nothing is working. what am i doing wrong, any help would be appreciated...i have a bunch of clients breathing downy my neck.

thanks

; <<>> DiG 9.3.0 <<>> @72.22.80.72 ns1.scottthornton.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

Check your firewall, doesn't look like it's allowing incoming DNS.

it say that my firewall is not activated yet. I never set it up, so i don't think that can be it...

any other ideas? i'm stuck