• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Setup NS1 & NS2 - Single IP

A

ashleym

I'm quite new to this, but I was wondering if I can setup the following naming servers on a single IP.

ns1.domain.com
ns2.domain.com

I've heard it's possible, and read through the docs - but, I'm not quite sure how to do it.

Thanks!

Yes you can, all you need to do is add the two A/NS records for the two nameserver addresses. Once that is done you need to register your two nameservers with whomever is your domain register.

I did that before posting the thread, but Godaddy won't allow me to change the name servers for my domain to those new addresses - it's throws an "unknown error".

Here are the DNS settings for the domain:

64.207.161.000 / 24 PTR domain.com.
ftp.domain.com. CNAME domain.com.
mail.domain.com. A 64.207.161.000
ns.domain.com. A 64.207.161.000
ns1.domain.com. NS ns1.domain.com. <----
ns2.domain.com. NS ns2.domain.com. <----
domain.com. A 64.207.161.000
domain.com. MX (10) mail.domain.com.
domain.com. NS ns.domain.com.
webmail.domain.com. A 64.207.161.000
www.domain.com. CNAME domain.com.

Also, my single IP is being shared by 8 sites and I'd like each to use the naming server that I'm trying to setup. This domain is also the default domain under Plesk.

Thanks in advance!

If I'm not mistaken, that's because GoDaddy's system is identifying the nameservers as using the same IP. It his highly discouraged around the net to use the same IP for two nameservers for a domain. This is, obviously, for stability reasons. If you need a secondary nameserver, I'm sure ZoneEdit can help with a few (5 max for free, last I saw). Or you could look into utilizing GraphiteCanyon or Afraid.Org, both of which also do DNS hosting.