1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Updating apache, php etc..

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by bonjurkes, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. bonjurkes

    bonjurkes Guest

    0
     
    Hello,

    I have a script that requires php 4.3.10, but php 4.3.9 comes with plesk 8.1.1 . I was using cpanel some time before and as far as i know every hosting panel (plesk or cpanel) updates the apache and other versions by themselves with upgrades. Because they work stable with specified versions of those packages, manually upgrading those packages (apache, php etc.) can broke off panel.

    Is this thing applies for plesk also? I mean can i upgrade my current php version by myself (using yum installation packages), or can only those versions updated by plesks update packages for working stable?
     
  2. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Yes, you can upgrade PHP, apache, mysql, etc through yum. That is how plesk is designed, to use what the OS vendor provides with the system. It opens things up to much easier customization.

    I have PHP 5.2.3 packages available in my archive, in the [atomic] channel.
     
  3. bonjurkes

    bonjurkes Guest

    0
     
    so can i simply type yum update then update my php?
     
  4. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
  5. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Guest

    0
     
    Yep, this is (in my opinion) one of the greatest features of Plesk :D

    I think it's only cPanel that does that :p. Every other control panel I've tried (Plesk, ISP-Config, VHCS) all use the vendor's packages (via yum, apt/dpkg, whatever...).
     
  6. CBiLL

    CBiLL Guest

    0
     

    I added your repo to my yum and did a yum update php which updated the php4 to php5 but ran into issue (blank page) where the php.ini had extension_dir = /usr/lib/php4 so I removed it and the pages start loading again.


    I have not yum update mysql to mysql5 yet but I got a question about it. Does the yum package update the db to work in mysql5 or I need to dump all db including Plesk's own db and restore it after a yum update mysql?


    Thank you
    Bill
     
  7. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Ive got a wiki page for PHP upgrades here:
    http://www.atomicorp.com/wiki/index.php/PHP

    There are a few extra steps you need to go through when its a major update like that.

    Mysql 4 to 5 is pretty painless, at most you might have to run mysql_fix_privilege_tables.
     
  8. l33tnet

    l33tnet Guest

    0
     
    Is there any way to install mcrypt/mhash with your install of PHP5?
     
  9. ZAPP?!

    ZAPP?! Guest

    0
     
    hi atomicturtle! :) :)


    I followed all steps from your wiki-link.
    But after step 3 i got that strange error:


    Code:
    mv /etc/php.ini.rpmnew /etc/php.ini
    mv: cannot stat `/etc/php.ini.rpmnew': No such file or directory
    the same with step 4?! I restarted my machine several times, without effect :( :(


    My system is nearly the same like bonjurkes's:

    • Cent OS 4
    • PLESK 8.1.1
    • PHP Version 4.3.9


    zapp (a-lot hell yeah!)
     
  10. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Hence the "as required". Not everybody needs to do that.
     
  11. CBiLL

    CBiLL Guest

    0
     
    Thank you for the wiki and I'll update my mysql tonight after backing up the db. Ill keep the mysql_fix_privilege_tables in mind.


    Bill
     
  12. CBiLL

    CBiLL Guest

    0
     
    Yup your right!

    "yum update mysql" then *BOOM* and done. Probably the fastest yum update I ever seen! I am at 5.0.27 and I was coming from 4.1.20


    Thanks

    Bill
     
  13. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Guest

    0
     
    Yep, it's basically the same on Debian (I updated 4.1.15 to 5.0.41 via the dotdeb.org repository) :)
    On Debian, doing
    Code:
    apt-get remove mysql-server-4.1 mysql-client-4.1
    Followed by:
    Code:
    apt-get install mysql-server-5.0 mysql-client-5.0
    Will upgrade MySQL with all databases intact :)
     
  14. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    PHP is the only update that does get complicated, and only if you're making a major change (4->5). For just about everything else, like spamassassin, mysql, clamav, etc. Its just a straight "yum update" type event.

    Apache is one exception. I use a common standardized design, and build for all the supported platforms at once (CentOS 3/4/5, RHEL 3/4/5, Fedora 4/5/6/7). Because of dependency issues, I'd have to update a lot of other support packages (pcre, apr, etc) for older distributions like CentOS3, and then all the packages that use those packages. That list gets really big really fast. :p
     
  15. Amin Taheri

    Amin Taheri Golden Pleskian Plesk Certified Professional

    33
     
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Just to clarify, upgrading mysql to 5.x.x will not impact plesk will it since uses the local mysql 4 installation?

    I heard some people say that once you upgrade to mysql 5 then plesk can no longer do a status on the service and that will cause other problems down the road - is that true in this case?

    If I do not use MySQL locally for customers (two centralized db mysql servers instead of local) does this still need to be done for php5?
     
  16. damon

    damon Guest

    0
     
    I'm trying to do the PHP 4 to 5 upgrade on PLesk 8.11, Centos 4.4 following the instructions at
    http://www.atomicorp.com/wiki/index.php/PHP

    The repos are setup but when I run

    Yum install php-pear I get
    Code:
    [root@ ~]# yum install php-pear
    Setting up Install Process
    Setting up repositories
    update                    100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
    base                      100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
    atomic                    100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
    addons                    100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
    extras                    100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
    Reading repository metadata in from local files
    Excluding Packages in global exclude list
    Finished
    Parsing package install arguments
    Resolving Dependencies
    --> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
    ---> Package php-pear.x86_64 0:4.3.9-3.22.5 set to be updated
    ---> Package php-pear.noarch 1:1.5.0-5.el4.art set to be updated
    --> Running transaction check
    --> Processing Dependency: php >= 5.1.0-1 for package: php-pear
    --> Processing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.5 for package: php-pear
    --> Processing Dependency: php-cli for package: php-pear
    --> Restarting Dependency Resolution with new changes.
    --> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
    ---> Package php-cli.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    ---> Package php.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    --> Running transaction check
    --> Processing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.3 for package: php-domxml
    --> Processing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.3 for package: php-gd
    --> Processing Dependency: php-common = 5.2.3-1.el4.art for package: php
    --> Processing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.3 for package: php-imap
    --> Processing Dependency: php-common = 5.2.3-1.el4.art for package: php-cli
    --> Processing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.3 for package: php-mbstring
    --> Processing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.5 for package: php-pear
    --> Processing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.3 for package: php-mysql
    --> Processing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.3 for package: php-ldap
    --> Processing Dependency: php <= 4.4.0 for package: php-sqlite2
    --> Restarting Dependency Resolution with new changes.
    --> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
    ---> Package php-gd.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    ---> Package php-mysql.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    ---> Package php-mbstring.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    ---> Package php-common.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    ---> Package php-pdo.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    ---> Package php-imap.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    ---> Package php-ldap.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    ---> Package php-xml.x86_64 0:5.2.3-1.el4.art set to be updated
    --> Running transaction check
    --> Processing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.5 for package: php-pear
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution
    Error: Missing Dependency: php = 4.3.9-3.22.5 is needed by package php-pear
    
     
  17. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    No not at all, remember everyone using FC6 have been using mysql 5 with PSA for a while now. Theres nothing in it that effects PSA on 8.1. Only older versions, like 8.0 and 7.5 have problems with mysql 5.
     
  18. Amin Taheri

    Amin Taheri Golden Pleskian Plesk Certified Professional

    33
     
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Now that I look closer it doesn't look like the php5 was a "clean" install as it missed something

    Code:
    # php -v
    Failed loading /usr/lib/php4/php_ioncube_loader_lin_4.3.so:  /usr/lib/php4/php_ioncube_loader_lin_4.3.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    PHP 5.2.3 (cli) (built: Jun  7 2007 08:59:02)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2007 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2007 Zend Technologies
        with the ionCube PHP Loader v3.1.31, Copyright (c) 2002-2007, by ionCube Ltd.
    
    looks like there was a residual ini file in /etc/php.d

    Code:
    /etc/php.d/ioncube-loader.ini
    zend_extension=/usr/lib/php4/php_ioncube_loader_lin_4.3.so
    
    This needed to be manually removed, and once I restarted apache after that php5 seemed to be ok :)
     
  19. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Yeah Ive got that bit in the wiki, whenever you update PHP youve got to update your extensions as well. Thats the 4.3 version of ioncube there. I did put out an update to the plesk package:

    php-ioncube-loader-3.0-2

    If you run "yum update" it should catch that. Its set up to automatically detect the php version, and adjust the ini setting accordingly.
     
  20. Amin Taheri

    Amin Taheri Golden Pleskian Plesk Certified Professional

    33
     
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Yeah, as it happened I ended up with both versions installed - I had to manually remove the old one, no biggie :)

    Im not sure if this is just a coincidence, but not even a full half hour after I updated mysql on the test box ( I did all the php stuff first and seperately) plesk as a whole just took a dump and quit.
     
Loading...