1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Creating Domain Alias problems

Discussion in 'Plesk 11.x for Linux' started by ksmith, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. ksmith

    ksmith New Pleskian

    10
     
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Recently I've setup a new centos 6.2 64 bit server and upgraded to 6.3 via the yum repositories, and installed/setup plesk to work on a setup for a client.

    No changes or recompilations have been done to the system, besides the default update tasks plesk does.

    I did create a client owner account to add subscriptions to it. All subscriptions made for the domains are using the unlimited package with unlimited amounts of domain aliases, and the subscription has the domain alias manager enabled as well

    After going in, creating a few domains and using FTP to upload files to the httpdocs folders, I went to add some domain aliases as the client requested.

    In adding the domain alias name of "kids" I get the following error:

    Error: The domain name you specified is invalid. Domain names can comprise letters, digits and hyphens. Each part of the domain name between dots should not be longer than 63 symbols.

    This is a clean install so I'm seeking any suggestions on how to get around this or correct the issue with not being able to add domain aliases. Anyone have any suggestions on things to check or how to fix this issue?
     
  2. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,572
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Have you tried other aliases or it is caused only by 'kids' alias name?
     
  3. abdi

    abdi Platinum Pleskian

    31
    18%
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    60
    Smith I also hope you are typing a full qualified domain name and not just a name "kids"
     
  4. ksmith

    ksmith New Pleskian

    10
     
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well for the client's protection, lets just use domain.com as the subscription for the domain in this example, but yes I did create a subscription for the client first, and after doing this, I tried adding the domain aliases.

    "kids" wasn't the only thing I tried. I tried several others even an alias of * or one of 63 characters, but all of them yielded the same error message. it seems that no combination of letters actually work in this area of the panel to add the domain alias.

    no errors are posting in /usr/local/psa/admin/logs/panel.log either when tailing the log and repeating the error in the plesk panel.

    I've checked /var/log/messages and /var/log/sw-cp-server/error_log while repeating the error again with no information being generated in the logs. Is there perhaps a different plesk panel error log I should be checking for more information aside from these?
     
  5. ksmith

    ksmith New Pleskian

    10
     
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should also add, that this is Plesk 11, on Centos 6.3
     
  6. abdi

    abdi Platinum Pleskian

    31
    18%
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    60
    Smith is the alias you are adding in the format: alias.com ?? eg somekids.com or you just type kids without the TLD?
     
  7. EdwardG

    EdwardG New Pleskian

    16
    60%
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    This highlights the confusion

    I got bitten by this. The form for the subdomain name shows the text field followed by a dropdown box with the domain name in it.

    It's not obvious that an FQDN is needed there, and the error is not specific enough.
     
Loading...