• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved Curl Request 401 Unauthorized

R2bEEaton

New Pleskian
Hello!

I am very new to Plesk and I'm doing this for a friend who is also stumped. He's got a Plesk server set up and wants to access the Rest API remotely, but whenever he or I try on our own machines, we get the following error:

[root@vps ~]# curl -i -k -X GET -u admin:thepasswordgoeshere -H "Content-Type: application/json" -H "Accept: application/json" "https://domain:8443/api/v2/domains"​

HTTP/1.1 401 Unauthorized
Server: sw-cp-server
Date: Sat, 09 Nov 2019 19:13:43 GMT
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Connection: keep-alive
Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *
Access-Control-Allow-Methods: *
Access-Control-Allow-Headers: *
WWW-Authenticate: Basic realm="Plesk RESTful API"
I tried to check if he had any IP's banned and that that might be any issue, but I didn't see any. So, how do I remotely connect to a Plesk Onyx for Linux Rest API?

Is API access enabled in /usr/local/psa/admin/conf/panel.ini?

Code:
[api]
enabled=on
How would I enable this in the web interface?

Edit: I found the panel.ini editor extention and pasted the api enable to the editor and hit save, but it still appears to not work. Also, my friend was wrong, we are on Plesk Obsidian.

Last edited:
Yes, but as per the example there:

curl -X POST --user root:password -H "Content-Type: application/json" -H "Accept: application/json" -d'{}' "https://domain:8443/api/v2/auth/keys"
You still need to use the normal authentication method to even generate an API key in the first place. And also, as far as I can tell, the API key appears to be optional and you can just use the normal curl authentication for each request. Also, that command above still returns a 401 Unauthorized.