• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

help with email

K

kdumas

I just recently got a virtual server with plesk. I need to figure out what I need to tell my customers to enter for their outgoing server. I have my server with godaddy. They told me to use k2smtpout.secureserver.net but this creates an error. Godaddy said that this is the outgoing server to use in Plesk but that doesn't help me figure out what to tell my customers to enter in the Outlook Express program. Please help. I am very new to this.

Do I have to set up an outgoing server? If so, how in the world do I do this?

I'm using sdwebserver.com as the nameservers for hosting.

It's easier to tell you customer to use THEIR isp connection outgoing SMTPserver.

The alternative is to setup SMTP auth on your plesk box.

I have this issue ... and will use the ISP in most cases ... but it would be nice to have this functionality ...

When you say "The alternative is to setup SMTP auth on your plesk box." ... can you provide details ... maybe point us to some documentation ???

Thanks !!!

what to use as outgoing smtp?

I have everything in the Server set up as explained in the documentation you sent. However, I'm not sure what to put in the outgoing server area in Outlook Express. I've tried many different things. It does work if I put in my isp outgoing server but I can't make it work with my server. The domain I'm working with now is paulajhung.com.

I've tried:

mail.paulajhung.com

along with godaddy's outgoing server that they had told me to use but it doesn't work. Do I have to set up something in the domain registration for paulajhung.com? MX record?

sdwebserver.com is the domain that I set up to use for the hosting nameservers. Do I use this?