• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved Hostname Confusion. Subdomain? Reverse DNS?

Catia

Basic Pleskian
Plesk newbie here - running Plesk Onyx on Ubuntu 16.04. I'm setting up a vps server and I didn't understand what Plesk was asking me when it asked for a hostname the first time I logged in. So I just accepted the default which was localhost.localdomain. But it seems this causes problems with email, so I need to change the hostname.

I understand that I need to change it through tools & settings > server settings, and that the hostname must be something like server.mydomain.com, but there are some things I don't quite understand.

1) Does it matter which of the many domains hosted on the server I choose as the hostname?
2) Do I need to create a subdomain for the hostname? In other words a subdomain of server.mydomain.com?
3) The DNS for each domain on the server has a TXT entry that reads: v=spf1 +a +mx +a:localhost.localdomain -all. Do I need to change localhost.localdomain to server.mydomain.com in the DNS for this record for each domain?
4) I keep reading that I need to setup reverse DNS for the hostname - something about a PTR record? I don't understand what should go into this record or which DNS file it should go into.
5) Anything else I should know before I attempt this?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

1) Does it matter which of the many domains hosted on the server I choose as the hostname?
The hostname should be a Fully Qualified Domain Name , so a domain name that you have registered e.g. abc.com so the hostname will be server.abc.com or vps.abc.com or box.abc.com it can be any thing

2) Do I need to create a subdomain for the hostname? In other words a subdomain of server.mydomain.com?