• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved How can i be sure my full hostname is valid ?

Pyloplesk

New Pleskian
Hi, my web-plesk has been moved to a VPS by my host provider, so i'm pretty new at handling this whole thing.

I need to change the full hostname of my plesk server. I have a subdomain plesk.mydomain.com resolving to my server IP. I use it as my plesk panel URL. Can i use the same subdomain as full hostname without risking any server failure ?

Thx :)

Did you also set your hostname in Plesk? In Tools & Settings > Server Settings?
Schermafbeelding 2021-11-25 om 10.23.35.png

If so, you should be good to go. Don't forget to also set the PTR record (reverse DNS) to point to your hostname.

No, that is precisely what i'm afraid of, as i'm not familiar with shell ssh if something goes wrong. Is there anywhere else i should set the hostname ? Can it crash the server or block my panel access if my hostname happens to be invalid ?

I took your advice and also set de PTR record to point to my hostname too.

There is no need for SSH access to set the Full hostname. Were did you get that idea from? It can be done directly from Plesk, as mentioned on my previous post; just navigate to Tools & Settings > Server Setting.

And no, you can't 'crash' your server if you set the wrong hostname. Worst case you can't access your server via the hostname, but you can always access via your servers (primary) IP address.