• Halloween is coming! To celebrate the occasion, we dusted off a couple of old skins, and even created a brand new one (Pixel).
    To get into the festive spirit, install the Skins extension.
  • The new Python extension is now available. It allows customers to deploy and manage WSGI-based Python applications on their websites directly from Plesk.
  • The Plesk Mobile apps for iOS and Android and the Plesk Mobile Center extension have been deprecated, and are no longer available for new installations. In Plesk Obsidian 18.0.84, the Plesk Mobile Center extension will be removed from servers during the upgrade, and the Plesk Mobile apps will lose their server management features.
  • The Social Login extension has been deprecated and will be removed in Plesk Obsidian 18.0.84. After that, it will no longer be possible to log in to Plesk with a Google, Facebook, GitHub account, or with a passkey. Plesk usernames and passwords, as well as logging in with a WebPros Account, are not affected.

How can I do a Plesk Config-only Backup?

J

johncody

Guest
Hi,
My website has like 2GB of EXE and other files that I already have a local copy of.

So, I just want to backup the configuration file for Plesk, so if I ever have to redo my server, I can simply upload my website contents, restore Smartermails config files and then restore plesk's config file and be up and running.

Backing up just Plesk's config files would be soooo much faster then the whole 2GB website :)

Any way to do this?
 
Hello,
If you are Plesk Administrator, you might create backup without site content (use desktop backup tool, go to Advanced group of settings and specify option back up domains content ).

Thanks.
 
Cool - Thanks.

After playing with plesk backup, I do have two more questions:

1) How can I verify that plesk backed up the correct files/settings? In other words how can I get a directory of the backup file?

2) Also, how can I selectively restore data from the backup file - meaning, lets say I did a full backup (with website contents), but when I do the restore, I only want to restore the plesk settings/configurations without restoring the website contents - how can I do this?

-John
 
Hello,
Developers are working on such features for next generation of backup tools.
Thanks.
 
Back
Top