• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

How do I install RPM's?

K

kindian

I'm a newbie. Really newbie. I bought a dedicated server and sucessfully installed Plesk 7.5 (Fedora 2). I've checked the modules section and tryed to install some RPM's throught there, but after a while the page shows me the IE not available page eror. I've seen lots of info regarding installing and getting into the "root" with some weird codes like: rpm -q 'rpmname'

But how do I get in there? Is this MS-DOS? I'm under Xp, and as a newbie, I think that I really need some help. What software do I need to install there RPM's.

thanks in advance

First you need to download a Windows SSH program (www.ssh.com), they still have the free 'evaluation' version 3.2 for windows.

Then install it and set it to connect to your server IP, login as root with your root password.

Then you will be at what will look like a 'DOS prompt', it is the Linux shell command prompt.

From here, you can issue commands such as rpm -Uvh whatever.rpm to install/upgrade rpm software packages.

Using the SSH client, you can also open an SFTP window (GUI based) to browse both your local drive and the server linux drive and transfer files that way.

This is just the bare basics, let me know if you have additional questions.

that was a clear reply. that was the answer I was looking for.
I was a CPanel user where everything was simple, and now I have to learn this. Thanks alot.

Just one more thing, an easy one, I've clicked on the updating think and my 7.5.0 was updated to the 7.5.3, in the email confirming the system was updated i've received this:

/PSA_7.5.3/rpm_FedoraCore_2/base/Mambo-4.5.2-7502.noarch.rpm - updated older package Mambo-4.5.1-1