• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Issue Installing Mattermost via Docker in Plesk - issues with containers

David Borrink

Basic Pleskian
Server operating system version
CentOS 7.9
Plesk version and microupdate number
18.0.58 #2
This is my first attempt at using Docker. I want to install Mattermost on my server to use for a chat system between members of my family. I went to Mattermost's page for installing via Docker (Install Mattermost via Docker — Mattermost documentation) and I'm having some confusion regarding how to do this. I ran the container for Mattermost Team Edition and it's installed. I also ran the PostgreSQL container to get a database added and that container is set up. The MM instructions say, "When the installation is complete, the PostgreSQL server is running, and a Linux user account called postgres has been created." I have an error in the overview of that container that says...

Error: Database is uninitialized and superuser password is not specified.
You must specify POSTGRES_PASSWORD to a non-empty value for the
superuser. For example, "-e POSTGRES_PASSWORD=password" on "docker run".

Since this is not in the MM instructions, I need some advice on how to proceed.

They say I need to be running Docker Engine and Docker Compose in order to do this, but is this different than using the Docker Extension in Plesk? I'm a Docker newbie, for the record.

Has anyone run the Mattermost Team Edition setup via Docker in Plesk and can advise me or point me to some helpful tips or tutorials regarding doing this? I'm assuming that once I get the containers set up that I run sudo commands per the instructions, correct?

Thanks for any advice.