How I think SiteBuilder should work

Z

ZeroSixty

I've been struggling to understand the logic behind how SB3 works. I would like (and kind of expected) SiteBuilder to behave in the following way:

We install SiteBuilder and enter servers (hosts) that it is permitted to publish to. (maybe IP ranges could be an option?)

We install SiteBuilder module on all Plesk servers (hosts).

Once those 2 tasks have been done:

When setting up a client (or client template) in Plesk, we check an option to 'Allow SiteBuilder Publishing' then enter number of domains the client is permitted to publish.

Admins job complete.

When a Plesk client creates a domain under his/her account, he/she checks a box to 'Allow SiteBuilder Publishing'.

Domain owner creates site in SiteBuilder and clicks the 'Publish' button. Screen displays 'FTP Host (Domain Name)', 'Publish Path' (httpdocs entered as default), 'FTP Username', 'FTP Password'.

I'm not a programmer so have no idea about permissions and such! But when the SiteBuilder user submits his/her publishing details, SiteBuilder checks that the domain is hosted on a server (or IP range) the admin has entered in the config area, then proceeds with logging in and publishing the site. If the domain is not hosted on the correct servers then an appropriate error is displayed.

This process seems very easy and logical to both the admin and end user, do you not think? Of course, let us all know how you think SiteBuilder should behave :)

I'd just be happy if it worked.

I'm kind of disappointed because there are some features that in my mind were advertised, like the 'upload your own header image' thing--but I've gone through all of the templates and less than a quarter of them support header image upload. And there isn't any separation of what does and does not support header image upload so it's like a blind squirrell trying to find a nut--I spent a good hour trying to figure out what did and did not accept template header upload.