1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Input Importing a database, default uncheck "Recreate the database"

Discussion in 'Plesk Suggestions and Feedback' started by websavers, Dec 5, 2017.

  1. websavers

    websavers Basic Pleskian

    16
     
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'd like to request that the "Recreate the database" option that shows when importing a database be unchecked by default.

    This is definitely my fault for moving too quickly: I imported a single table dump and forgot to uncheck that box, causing the entire database to be wiped out. I had just made a backup dump, so all is well, but I would imagine that not everyone will think to do so.

    Since "Recreate the database" is extremely destructive, I think it might be best to have that checkbox *not* enabled by default when importing a database. If it's not enabled, the worst that will happen is the data will fail to be imported. When it *is* enabled, an entire database can be lost.
     
  2. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,572
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
Loading...