1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Installing Koha on Debian 6+ with Plesk 11

Discussion in 'Plesk 11.x for Linux' started by DilanR, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. DilanR

    DilanR New Pleskian

    17
    85%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my dedicated server with hetzner.de which is running Debian 6+ with Plesk 11. I have install Koha 3.8 on my server. This library management system suppose be accessed under library.koyauniversity.org after installation, but it does not work. I believe Plesk stop this process somehow. I need help to get this library up run please.

    The installation has created a file /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/library
    I have created the my subdomain in Plesk library.koyauniversity.org

    Somehow these two need to communicate, what do I miss here?
     
  2. abdi

    abdi Platinum Pleskian

    31
    18%
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    60
    You will not get a direct answer here for the installation and configurations of KOHA on a debian server. You have to visit KOHA installation guides and manuals.

    KOHA installation is not straight forward, there a lot perl modules you need to have installed, and apache configurations of how it links with its various folder structure.

    I have done it before about 18 months ago and it was not a smooth walk ...
     
  3. DilanR

    DilanR New Pleskian

    17
    85%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has been changed since then, as you can see
    http://wiki.koha-community.org/wiki/Koha_3.8_on_Debian_Squeeze

    It is very straight forward. I have been talking to Koha community and they did help me through step by step, at the end things was just get back to Plesk and Apache2 configuration that does not allow the site to appear. Plesk allow you to view data straight in subdomain, what if the site is enabled in Apache2, will Plesk allow for displaying the site?

    Everyone believe that Plesk block the site to appear on my subdomain. I have collected some information from here and there and mostly from your forum here, (http://kl1p.com/koyauni) please have a look, and see if you can help me here.
     
  4. abdi

    abdi Platinum Pleskian

    31
    18%
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    60
    I could give you rather a different approach to this ...

    A default installation of KOHA can easily be made to run on different ports and that includes (Intranet and OPAC). Well if you can easily or already have this running but on different ports, then I can easily in seconds make it accessible on normal port 80 with your subdomain.

    For starters are you able to access the intranet and or OPAC on a different ports? In otherwards is KOHA running?
     
  5. DilanR

    DilanR New Pleskian

    17
    85%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, if you look at the file http://kl1p.com/koyauni I shared the out but of the enable site library by apache2, and that show the koha is running on port 80,

    # OPAC (user site)
    <VirtualHost 88.198.51.202:80>
    ...

    Please see that at bottom of that page.
     
  6. abdi

    abdi Platinum Pleskian

    31
    18%
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    60
    Yes, your configurations show it should run on port 80, but is it running? I guess not! If its not, then just install with default settings and its OK for it to run on different ports.

    With a rather different approach I could make it run on port 80. Of-course I don't touch your KOHA / Intranet configuration files.

    In my earlier post, i asked if you were able to make it run on different ports which should be a walk through doing so ...Do so and let me know!
     
  7. DilanR

    DilanR New Pleskian

    17
    85%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. abdi

    abdi Platinum Pleskian

    31
    18%
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    60
    Firstly, We create a server domain in plesk, eg: library.koyauniversity.org Secondly:

    Code:
    vim /var/www/vhosts/library.koyauniversity.org/conf/vhost.conf
    and add the following contents:
    Code:
    SSLProxyEngine on 
    ProxyRequests off 
    ProxyPass / http://library.koyauniversity.org:8080/ 
    ProxyPassReverse / http://library.koyauniversity.org:8080/ 
    
    then finely:
    For Plesk 10.*
    Code:
    /usr/local/psa/admin/sbin/httpdmng --reconfigure-all
    
    now you can try opening:
    Code:
    http://library.koyauniversity.org
    
     
  9. DilanR

    DilanR New Pleskian

    17
    85%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    This solved the issue Abdi,

    Many thanks for your help,
     
  10. abdi

    abdi Platinum Pleskian

    31
    18%
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    60
    Your most welcome. You can do the same for the intranet too!
     
  11. DilanR

    DilanR New Pleskian

    17
    85%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. abdi

    abdi Platinum Pleskian

    31
    18%
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    60
    Alright, I can see that ...
     
  13. DilanR

    DilanR New Pleskian

    17
    85%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, after several years we are back to square one with this domain resolution in Plesk. We have just upgraded our server to Debian 8.5 and Plesk 12.5 at the same time we upgraded Koha Library system from 3.10 to 16, huge jump, Nevertheless we are facing same issue we have then as this post helped us to solve it. This time I followed the same but it did not work with Plesk 12.5

    The conf folder and file are placed automatically under

    /var/www/vhosts/system/mydomain.org/conf

    There is a file called httpd.conf which has been auto generated, and the virtual host setting for the domain is different from the one advised by Koha, How can these two match?

    Koha give direction to over come the domain issue but this is for a server without panel, Plesk must have different story

    https://wiki.koha-community.org/wiki/How_to_set_up_a_domain_name_for_Koha

    Is there any solution to this issue? I can access the domain like this

    http://library.koyauniversity.org:8080/

    but I do not want the :8080, I chose port :80 and the whole server stopped working.

    I hope you have an solution to this
     
Loading...