• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Mail gets stuck in queue

W

W2JGA

For some reason, all mail from any domain gets stuck in the mail queue. I checked the mail error logs and it says something about not being able to connect to smtp. ??

Though I can email all day long from Outlook Express, but anything from the server itself, won't get out of the queue. This includes enabling smtp on phpBB boards.

I'm new to this, so please be gentle.

Can you try telnetting to a mail server? IE: look at one of the emails, check the recipient's email address, type dig domain.com mx get the 10 mx record and try to telnet on port 25 to that address. Might be that your nameservers aren't giving you responses, or you've got something blocking port 25 on the outbound. Also, have you checked to see if the missing messages are in the queue? Might want to do that first as maybe PHP is broken?

Can you try telnetting to a mail server? IE: look at one of the emails, check the recipient's email address, type dig domain.com mx get the 10 mx record and try to telnet on port 25 to that address. Might be that your nameservers aren't giving you responses, or you've got something blocking port 25 on the outbound. Also, have you checked to see if the missing messages are in the queue? Might want to do that first as maybe PHP is broken?

I can telnet to the server via port 25, I can compose a message, send it, but then I can see it in the mail queue. Stuck.

DIG results...

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> mydomain.net mx
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 13022
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 3

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mydomain.net. IN MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
mydomain.net. 86400 IN MX 10 mail.mydomain.net.

;; AUTHORITY SECTION: