• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Newbie DNS Configuration Question

• Thread starter punjabipredator
  • Start date
P

punjabipredator

I am new to PLESK i changed from CPANEL

I just wanted to know if i have set up my DNS correctly in Plesk

I have set up two DNS Servers with the record type NS

ns1.mydomain.com.
ns2.mydomain.com.

I have set up the same DNS Servers with the record type A and gave it there ip addresses

I wanted to know if i have done everything correctly and also how do i share these nameservers for my clients?

Hi, to set plesk up as a DNS server do the following ...

1. Register the nameservers ns1 and ns2 via your domain registrar and enter 2 IP address's on your plesk server.

ns1.mydomain.com = 1.1.1.1 (replace with real ip)
ns2.mydomain.com = 1.1.1.2 (replace with real ip)

2. Still in your domain registrar control panel change the DNS servers of mydomain.com to ns1.mydomain.com & ns2.mydomain.com

3. Login to plesk and go to Server > DNS and make sure you have the following ...

<domain>.|NS|ns1.mydomain.com.
<domain>.|NS|ns2.mydomain.com.
<domain>.|NS|ns.<domain>.
<domain>.|A|<ip>
<domain>.|MX (10)|mail.<domain>.
<ip> / 24|PTR|<domain>.
ftp.<domain>.|CNAME|<domain>.
mail.<domain>.|A|<ip>
mssql.<domain>.|A|<ip>
ns.<domain>.|A|<ip>
sitebuilder.<domain>.|A|<ip>
webmail.<domain>.|A|<ip>

Note : The | are to show the seperate columns

4. Go to Add New Domain and add mydomain.com to the system.

5. Go to the mydomain.com and edit the DNS. Then add the following A records ...

ns1.mydomain.com.|A|1.1.1.1 (replace with real ip)
ns2.mydomain.com.|A|1.1.1.2 (replace with real ip)

This should be all you need to do to set your DNS server up. To setup a domain to use the new DNS server, do the following ...