• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Outlook - incorrect time when receiving mail

I

Insomniac

Hi,

Apologies if this has been brought up before, I couldn't find this problem in my searching...

I have resolved all sending and receiving issues in Outlook Express thanks to posts on this forum... except one - if I send someone (or myself) an email at say 10:30am, it arrives in their/my inbox almost instantaneously, but Outlook says that it arrived at 7:30am. There seems to be a consistent 3 hour discrepancy.

Any ideas what could be causing Outlook Express to be reporting the receipt time incorrectly? Strange thing is that when I hit reply or forward, the body of the message that contains the original message reports the correct time of 10:30am...

I am very new to Plesk, so bear with me if I've neglected to include essential info...

Thanks!!

If you are on a dedicated server (not a VPS), have you made sure that the Server's time is correct, as well as the Server's TimeZone setting? SystemBoard BIOS clock, etc? (see the link below for HOWTO)
Code:
Checking Linux Timezone:
#ll /etc/localtime
should show you something like this:

lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root           27 Jul  8 16:13 localtime -> /usr/share/zoneinfo/PST8PDT
(more info at: [url]http://www.linuxsa.org.au/tips/time.html[/url])

In this case, the server's timezone is symlinked to the PST8PDT, which is Pacific Standard Time
8 hour offset Pacific Daylight Time.  Which is correct for California, USA.
Code:
Checking/setting Linux time:

See the following link for a great HOWTO for Linux
[url]http://www.comptechdoc.org/os/linux/usersguide/linux_ugtime.html[/url]

I believe a VPS server has a different way to check/set these.

If you are looking at the email headers from Qmail, here is an excerpt from a mailing list some time ago: