• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Plesk Webmail SMTP Error (250), Authentication Failed

mdixon18

New Pleskian
I'm very much new to Plesk which is in this case installed on CentOS 6 and Plesk Version 12.0.18.

Basically, I initially had trouble where everytime i tried to load webmail.domain.tld i would have a DNS error, I've resolved this by correcting the DNS settings on my domain and now i can login to the webmail and recieve emails. Now, whether i use Horde or Roundcube i get this authentication error for my SMTP. I'm very new to this stuff and i'm not sure where my log files are or what the issue could be or even how to fix it.

Can anybody make some suggestions and get me going onto the next step of fixing this,

Thank you,

Matt.

Try to find something useful from mail and webmail logs - http://kb.parallels.com/en/111283

[26-Jun-2014 12:03:24 +0200]: SMTP Error: SMTP error: Authentication failure: SMTP server does not support authentication (Code: ) in /usr/share/psa-roundcube/program/lib/Roundcube/rcube.php on line 1497 (POST /roundcube/?_task=mail&_unlock=loading1403777086239&_lang=en_GB?_task=mail&_action=send)

Do you have local IP in the While List? Try to remove it.

I removed the SMTP user and password which stopped this error but now i get something like this:

SMTP Error (554): Failed to add recipient "[email protected]" (5.7.1 <[email protected]>: Relay access denied).

Here is my SMTP configuation:

// For example %n = mail.domain.tld, %t = domain.tld
$config['smtp_server'] = 'localhost';

// SMTP port (default is 25; use 587 for STARTTLS or 465 for the
// deprecated SSL over SMTP (aka SMTPS))
$config['smtp_port'] = 25;

// SMTP username (if required) if you use %u as the username Roundcube
// will use the current username for login
$config['smtp_user'] = '';