• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved rDNS problem

LouisJ

New Pleskian
Foremost, I am new to Plesk. I am using Plesk to manage the DNS settings and struggling with the email deliverability.

I'm using a third party mail service provider and verified that the required MX records are correctly set up. However, there is this ERROR: No reverse DNS entries. The rDNS for the Plesk server is correct. I have individual domains(websites) resolving to the same IP with no issues. However, the pointer record for the external mail service is not.

I checked with the mail service provider and they said it has to be set up on my server. I looked through Plesk and see that there is an option to set up PTR record and I tried with both the mail service provider's IP and my server IP, none works. After some search, it seems there is a need to create a DNS zone via the panel but there is no option to insert xx.xx.xx.in-addr.arpa. It has been a long wild goose chase.

Can someone kindly point me to the right direction? I am using a Plesk hosting service from a hosting service provider. How can I set this up?

I'm not sure if this makes a difference. My server rDNS is correctly setup. Other domains are using Plesk mail server with no issues. Thanks

rDNS is done by your VPS provider (or whoever you get your IP address from). Some providers you can set it up through their portal, others you'll need to open a ticket. You just need to review to check their help documentation.

Thanks! Really appreciate the help!

Just to make sure I understand it correctly. The rDNS for the server is already set up and is correct. What it requires now is to set up the the mail service provider's in-addr.arpa and this is to be done via the VPS provider?