• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Rookie looking for direction... your help appreciated

D

danolie

Hello,

I am a complete rookie to any type of server management. I am using virtual dedicated hosting with GoDaddy... I had around 30 sites all using shared hosting at HostRocket, and thought this would be a good way to save some cash... HOWEVER, I don't know where to start. I have activated the Plesk control panel, figured out how to add a client, how to add domains, etc... I have read much of the Plesk documentation, but I need BASIC instructions on 'connecting the dots' so to speak.

I realize these questions are very basic in nature, and if your answers are simply to tell me to RTFM, please refrain... at least direct me to some specific resources. :)

I purchased this virtual dedicated hosting with the plesk control panel and 30 domains...

Here are a couple of my many questions:

Setting up nameservers... Do I need to pick a domain to act as a nameserver, and just create 2 nameservers using the registrar control panel? (then use these nameservers for all the domains I put there)?

I'm assuming that is correct and have created ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com - AND... does this require more than one IP address? I just have one right now. Is it ok to have both nameservers pointing to the same IP?

If some patient soul can give me some basic instructions it would be great...

A good provider will happily walk you through a new server. That's part of providing good support. Call your hosting provider and see what they say.

one would hope

but that is not the case. GoDaddy has continually just referred me to the Plesk website.

(which is why I mention "a good provider") Maybe time to evaluate what makes a good provider and what just makes a cheap one.