1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Security: There is another user with the same login already logged in..??

Discussion in 'Plesk 10.x for Linux Issues, Fixes, How-To' started by jpameli, May 9, 2012.

  1. jpameli

    jpameli Guest

    0
     
    Hello,
    we just got a VPS with Ubuntu and Plesk on it. Its a great tool.. :)
    I configured the server and I set a strong root password and public keys for ssh.
    Also Plesk has a very strong password for the admin user.

    I configured Plesk and now 5 hours later I logged into the admin account again and got the message "There is another user with the same login already logged in" as admin. Session time is only 30min... Now I am a little bit confused what happend there. I checked the action log and everytime when I did a log in, there was a log out for the session. Also I only saw logins from my IP.

    I still worry a bit what could cause this message. I was able to login without problems, but this message makes me feel little bit nervous if someone got admin access and deleted the log login entries..

    What do you think? I can't believe the system got compromised so fast because I really take care of security, but I am still a paranoid person so maybe there is something what i missed.. :-/

    /Edit:
    Paranoia gets even worse.
    What is that for a user without group or right above the admin?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: May 9, 2012
  2. jpameli

    jpameli Guest

    0
     
    No one? :(
     
  3. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,576
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Try to reset all session parameters back to their default values:

    Go to Tools & Settings > Session Idle Time (in the Security group) and click Default. The default session idle time will be set to 30 minutes. Click OK.
     
  4. jpameli

    jpameli Guest

    0
     
    Hi Igor,
    thank you for your reply.
    I talked to my VPS Hoster and they told me the "admin is already logged in message" even when I successfully logged out before comes from internal Plesk maintaining features. So I should not worry about it any longer... :)

    The empty session like on the screenshot was just a session failure they told me.
    It also disappeard from alone.

    So for now I try to trust my server again... :D
     
Loading...