• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Setting up SPF for outgoing Emails

• Thread starter Peter J. Walker
  • Start date
P

Peter J. Walker

Hi,
I am new to Plesk 8.6 which is running on a Suse Linux server. I am no expert, just trying to get everything running properly. I do not have a licence for SpamAssassin installed (costs extra).

I have a number of domains on my server and I want to setup my SPF record correctly. Here is what I have done so far and unfortunately it does not seem to be working. I hope someone can tell me what to do to get this up and running properly as I get a lot of spam on one of my accounts. I use Spam Arrest to kill my incoming spam. However as a lot of the incoming spam is declared as coming from my own Email addresses, I am hoping the SPF record can help to stop that. I have also had spammers using my domain name to send out spam to others (however NOT from my server).

Anyway, this is what I have done so far (I have substituted mydomain.com for the real domain name):

1. Used http://old.openspf.org/wizard.html to create a suitable SPF entry.
2. Entry supplied was: "v=spf1 a mx include:ispdomain.com include:spamarrest.com ~all"
3. In Plesk 8.6, I went to Domains / mydomain.com / DNS Settings
4. Clicked on "Add Record"
5. Record type: TXT
6. Enter domain name: mail (.mydomain.com was already there)
7. Enter TXT record: v=spf1 a mx include:ispdomain.com include:spamarrest.com ~all
8. OK
9. Then clicked on the Update button to update the DNS records.

I also made the following additional settings:

Under Server / Mail

DomainKeys spam protection
Allow signing outgoing mail = On
Verify incoming mail = On

Switch on SPF spam protection
SPF checking mode: Reject mails when SPF resolves to "fail" (deny)
SPF local rules: include:spf.trusted-forwarder.org