• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion
  • Please beaware of a breaking change in the REST API on the next Plesk release (18.0.62).
    Starting from Plesk Obsidian 18.0.62, requests to REST API containing the Content-Type header with a media-type directive other than “application/json” will result in the HTTP “415 Unsupported Media Type” client error response code. Read more here

Issue Slow client download speeds for large files

SolarStorm

New Pleskian
Server operating system version
Alma Linux 8 - Linux 4.18.0-513.5.1.el8_9.x86_64
Plesk version and microupdate number
Version 18.0.61 Update #3
Hello everyone,

I'm new to Plesk, coming from a Cpanel server. I'm in the middle of migrating to Plesk and have discovered an issue which I'd like to share, just in case someone can assist.

Both Cpanel and Plesk servers are with the same hosting provider and have an identical performance metric.

e.g DD shows the same nvme speed, WGET also shows similar download speeds.

The problem is when a client is trying to fetch a large from from the Plesk server, where performance is severely degraded, to the point it stalls many times and sometimes fails to download.

To keep the environments as identical as possible, I've placed the same 500MB test download file on both production (Cpanel) and new Plesk servers. In the attached image, you'll notice the file being downloaded at almost 4MB/sec while the Plesk site download speed is between 100KB/sec - 400KB/sec. This particular download from the Plesk server failed.

I've been working with my hosting support on this for a few days now but I can't figureout where the issue is. My home connection is a 40Mb/sec download. I performed these tests from work (1 Gig fibre) and the results are similar.