• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

"The SMTP server service is switched off"

B

batman4444

I am having some issues with the Plesk control panel
When I click on any of the following:

Clients
Domains
System
Server
Sessions

I get the following error:

--Plesk diagnostics
Problems found:
The SMTP server service is switched off.
Solutions:
Restart the SMTP server service.

If select to restart the service, I still get the exact same error. This error message prevents me from accessing these parts of the cp (including server-->mail set up).

I am kinda new to this, but have found some other people with this same problem, but no solutions.

At first I tried uninstalling the mailman / spamassasin applications to see if this would resolve my issue, but it still persists.

Next I checked my smtp_psa file to remove extra RBL in case this was the issue, however doesnt look like any are currently being used (im not sure i have correctly disabled the RBL lists, but this is how my smtp_psa currently looks)

service smtp
{
socket_type = stream
protocol = tcp
wait = no
disable = yes
user = root
instances = UNLIMITED
env = SMTPAUTH=1 POPLOCK_TIME=20
server = /var/qmail/bin/tcp-env
server_args = -Rt0 /var/qmail/bin/relaylock /var/qmail/bin/qmail-smtpd /var/qmail/bin/smtp_auth /var/qmail/bin/true /var/qmail/bin/cmd5checkpw /var/qmail/bin/true
}

Any Ideas?
Thanks

Hi,

Was this on a Virtuozzo container by any chance? We receive these occasionally and have identified that its basically Plesk shrugging its shoulders, it knows something is wrong but hasn't a clue what.

We have received it for :

Out of memory.
Broken installs.
Configuring Plesk such that it has no clue what IP address it should be assigning new domains.

Paul.