1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice

upgrade mysql and php on FC3 and Plesk 7.5.4

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by sofferto, Jan 5, 2006.

  1. sofferto

    sofferto Guest

    0
     
    Hi,

    i want upgrade the default version of MySql and PHP installed with Fedora Core 3 and Plesk 7.5.4

    How do i upgrade mysql and php with Plesk 7.5.4 ?

    If i make this upgrade manually..... have any problems with Plesk?

    Thanks for your suggestions.
     
  2. section31

    section31 Guest

    0
     
  3. jwdick

    jwdick Guest

    0
     
    Dedfinitely would recommend NOT upgrading manually. Use ART's rpms and YUM to upgrade. Check http://atomicrocketturtle.com
     
  4. simonp@

    simonp@ Guest

    0
     
    Hi,

    I went to the ART site and he seems to have moved things around and I cannot find the rpm for the latest mysql 4.1.18. Could somone please post a link to this rpm on ART or other?

    thanks

    Simon
     
  5. Highland

    Highland Guest

    0
     
    In your /etc/yum.conf file make certain you have the following
    Then run
    #yum check-update

    That should show you the 4.1.18 files (which are fairly recent additions). Then all you should need is

    #yum upgrade mysql
     
  6. rookie00

    rookie00 Guest

    0
     
    same problem

    i want to upgrade mysql to 4.0.x i am running fedora2,plesk7.5.4,virtuozzo. i am new to plesk and linux i have read some how to's but i dont know where to put some of these files. cuz in the virtuozzo there is a etc folder and there is also a etc folder for each domain in plesk. which etc folder should i put this yum file and my.cnf file. thanks can someone assist me please. please forgive me if this doesn't make any sense .i am stuck. also where do i run all these files?
     
  7. eilko

    eilko Regular Pleskian

    28
    73%
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Enschede, Netherlands
    yum is a serverwide tool. Download the yum rpm. install it (rpm -ivh yum-xxxxxxx.rpm) edit the /etc/yum.conf . Run yum. All done under SSH with user root.
     
  8. simonp@

    simonp@ Guest

    0
     
    Hi,

    Yes thanks for the reply guys - shortly after posting and bashing head against the wall I figured it all out and was running in 5 mins!

    For those you are still asking my question check out my post on all the steps at
    http://forum.swsoft.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=32180


    thanks

    Simon
     
  9. rookie00

    rookie00 Guest

    0
     
    when i download these files which folder should i put them in. thanks.
     
  10. simonp@

    simonp@ Guest

    0
     
  11. rookie00

    rookie00 Guest

    0
     
    i am getting no such file or directory when i go to install yum in ssh client. i put the yum file in /usr/local/bin.is this the correct directory.
     
  12. simonp@

    simonp@ Guest

    0
     
    Hi,

    it doesn't matter where as long as you remember where it is. Because once the RPM is installed it will use the predefined directories.

    Simon
     
  13. eilko

    eilko Regular Pleskian

    28
    73%
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Enschede, Netherlands
    just put the yum rpm file somewhere e.g. /tmp
    then go to that directory (cd /tmp) and install the rpm (rpm -ivh yum-xxxx-xxx.rpm (replace with real name)), Now you can remove the rpm file (rm yum-xxx-xxx.rpm). Yum is now installed in the correct directories.
     
  14. slaphost

    slaphost Guest

    0
     
    Cannot install YUM

    I have a configuration that has no YUM, up2date or A.R.T. and to make it worse the versions of MySQL and PHP are behind.

    I've tried everyone's great advice but I get trapped in an RPM dependency loop when I try to RPM YUM.

    First:
    It needs "libxml2-python" and "rpm-python >=4"

    Which in turn needs:
    "libc.so.6" and "libxml2"

    And that needs
    "libxml2 2.6.15"

    Loosing my mind! :(
    Any help?
     
  15. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I assume you're on a FC3 vserver, which isn't really a normal FC3 box. Its a customized OS based on FC3, thats why you dont have the usual update utils. Its likely that you will also need to resolve dependencies in addition to these, so we'll just step through this until you're done. Do the following:

    wget http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/3rd-party/base/3/RPMS/yum-2.1.11-3.noarch.rpm
    wget http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/3rd-party/base/3/RPMS/libxml2-python-2.6.14-2.i386.rpm
    wget http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/3rd-party/base/3/RPMS/rpm-python-4.3.2-21.i386.rpm
    wget http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/3rd-party/base/3/RPMS/glibc-2.3.3-74.i386.rpm
    wget http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/3rd-party/base/3/RPMS/libxml2-2.6.14-2.i386.rpm

    rpm -Uvh yum-2.1.11-3.noarch.rpm libxml2-python-2.6.14-2.i386.rpm rpm-python-4.3.2-21.i386.rpm glibc-2.3.3-74.i386.rpm libxml2-2.6.14-2.i386.rpm


    If your vserver is set up right, this should install without any issues. If it is not, the command will error out requiring other dependencies, paste those here, and I'll give you the next step (but please chastize your provider for giving you a broken box first). If it succeeds, then edit /etc/yum.conf and add the following:

    [base]
    name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - Base OS RPMS mirror
    baseurl=http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/3rd-party/base/$releasever/

    [updates]
    name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - OS Update RPMS mirror
    baseurl=http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/3rd-party/updates/$releasever/

    [atomic]
    name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - Atomic PSA-Compatible RPMS
    baseurl=http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/art/$releasever/


    Then type: yum update

    This could result in a very long list of updates, which is normal, and safe to apply in a PSA environment. Included in this list will be updates from my channel, [atomic], which will include mysql 4.1.18, and php 4.4.2.
     
  16. slaphost

    slaphost Guest

    0
     
    I am actually on Core 2. Thank you for your reply I am axious to give it a go, I think I understand atomicrocketturtle.com I can swap out the "3" for a "2" in the directory structure.

    I'll await a response in case you might know of specific Core 2 instructions.

    Awesome, I so appreciate the help!!!
     
  17. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    you'll need to change the version numbers as well, just browse that directory on 3es and you should be able to find the files for FC2 that you need.
     
  18. slaphost

    slaphost Guest

    0
     
    Typed in

    rpm -Uvh yum-2.0.7-1.1.noarch.rpm libxml2-python-2.6.8-1.i386.rpm rpm-python-4.3.1-0.3.i386.rpm glibc-2.3.3-27.i386.rpm libxml2-2.6.8-1.i386.rpm

    And got:
    error: Failed dependencies:
    glibc-common = 2.3.3-27 is needed by glibc-2.3.3-27
    libxml2 >= 2.6.15 is needed by (installed) libxslt-1.1.12-2

    Is it time to chew out ipower.com for a broken box? Can this be fixed?

    So I went and got glibc-common from 3es.
    and ran the complete RPM with glibc-common at the front and got this:

    error: Failed dependencies:
    glibc-common = 2.3.3-27.1.1.legacy is needed by (installed) glibc-dummy-fedora-core-2-2.3.3-27.1.1.legacy.1.swsoft
    libxml2 >= 2.6.15 is needed by (installed) libxslt-1.1.12-2

    hmmm...

    thx
     
  19. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Dont mix rpms from different distributions, thats part of the problem there. And yes, chew out your provider, if they dont include a way for you to update your box, then they either need to fix it, or take responsibility for updating it for you.

    Back to the problem at hand, if youre on FC2, then you'll only want to use packages from the FC2 channels. I have mirrors of fedoralegacy here:
    http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/3rd-party/base/2/RPMS/
    http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/3rd-party/updates/2/RPMS/

    Using packages from other distributions will make things even worse
     
  20. slaphost

    slaphost Guest

    0
     
    okay, so I type:

    rpm -Uvh glibc-common-2.3.3-27.1.1.legacy.i386.rpm

    and get :

    package glibc-common-2.3.3-27.1.1.legacy is already installed

    If it's already installed how come I got the error

    Failed dependencies:
    glibc-common = 2.3.3-27.1.1.legacy is needed by (installed) glibc-dummy-fedora-core-2-2.3.3-27.1.1.legacy.1.swsoft

    Is this something I've done wrong with mixed distributions? Is there a way to step back? Pardon the NOOBISHNESS of this posting. How can I tell that I am using the correct distribution?

    I am on live chat with the provider now, so far they are not of much help. Any suggestions on a provider that ROCKS! I'm still in my 30 trial, the price is good($35/mo), but the hassle stinks. Any way I can migrate all the settings to the new server and not have to redo all the DNS, mail accounts and domains settings -- just a thought, I'm losing production time with these issues, THANKS!
     
Loading...