• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Question Woocommerce, Redis, PHP Settings - Newbie questions

Zakky

New Pleskian
Server operating system version
Almalinux 9.3
Plesk version and microupdate number
18.0.58 #2
Hello everyone, I'm new to server setup and panel configuration, and because of this, I would like to ask a few questions for which I haven't found answers, or the answers I found are already outdated.
I've read in guides that setting up Nginx caching might not be the best option for an e-commerce site whose content updates at best once a week. Given this, I would like to know from you the optimal server setup for a WooCommerce online store and also about the basic settings.
  1. During the basic server setup, I have PHP 8.2.15 FPM by Apache, and the Performance Booster extension indicates that 3 boosts are available for this PHP version. These are "Speed up web server static file access" and "Speed up web server compression". Should I trust this extension and at least rely on its suggestions for the basics?
  2. Regardless of the chosen CMS, WooCommerce immediately mentions static caching and indicates that Redis support is enabled by default, although the installed Redis Object Cache plugin signals that there is no access. Should I install and configure it separately through Plesk or SSH, or will the WP Rocket plugin be sufficient? If necessary, could you share a guide for beginners on how to properly configure Redis so that each site uses it separately and the cache doesn't mix?
  3. If I have the FPM by Apache or FPM by nginx versions, do I need to check the FastCGI boxes in the Hosting / Web scripting tab?

Thank you very much for your answers in advance. Sincerely

Last edited by a moderator: