1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

10.4. -> Subdomains Fail

Discussion in 'Plesk 10.x for Linux Issues, Fixes, How-To' started by Powie, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    Whats wrong with subdomains in Plesk 10.4. ?

    After upgrading Subdomains are diasbled. After creating a new subdomain this subdomain works for a limited time. Then the subdomains is displayed as Inactive in the Panel and cannot be reactivated.

    Plesk creates a new directory for the subdomain:
    /var/www/vhosts/subdomain.domain.tld

    But the Site folder ist created under:
    /var/www/vhosts/domain.tld/folder

    crazy...

    .... which way to fix? How to reactivate the subdomains?
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2011
  2. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,571
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Make sure that number of allowed subdomains in license is not exceeded.
     
  3. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    It's not exceeded.

    Yersterday I find in another thread a workaround: delete and recreate the subdomains. Yesterday it works.
    This morning the subdomains are locked again.....?

    Its only an issue of 4 subdomains of 2 domains. All other subdomains works.
     
  4. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    I find an interesting part in panels log file, it belongs to the affected domains:

    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:05] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'pma')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:06] 'Update Domain DNS Zone' ('Domain Name': 'be-webspace.de' => 'be-webspace.de')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:06] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'pma')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:06] 'Update Domain DNS Zone' ('Domain Name': 'be-webspace.de' => 'be-webspace.de')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:06] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'test')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:06] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'service')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:07] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'service')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:07] 'Update Domain DNS Zone' ('Domain Name': 'be-webspace.de' => 'be-webspace.de')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:07] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'test')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:36:08] 'Update Domain DNS Zone' ('Domain Name': 'be-webspace.de' => 'be-webspace.de')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:37:23] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'pma')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:37:25] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'pma')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:37:25] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'service')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:37:26] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'service')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:37:27] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'test')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 02:37:28] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'be-webspace.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'test')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:10] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'files2')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:11] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'portal2')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:11] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'files')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:11] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'portal')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:11] 'Update Domain DNS Zone' ('Domain Name': 'mysaarbq.de' => 'mysaarbq.de')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:12] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'portal2')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:12] 'Update Domain DNS Zone' ('Domain Name': 'mysaarbq.de' => 'mysaarbq.de')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:12] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'files2')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:13] 'Update Domain DNS Zone' ('Domain Name': 'mysaarbq.de' => 'mysaarbq.de')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:13] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'files')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:14] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'portal')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:14] 'Update Domain DNS Zone' ('Domain Name': 'mysaarbq.de' => 'mysaarbq.de')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 03:40:15] 'Update Domain DNS Zone' ('Domain Name': 'mysaarbq.de' => 'mysaarbq.de')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 04:15:12] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'files2')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 04:15:18] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'files2')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 04:15:19] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'portal2')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 04:15:21] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'files')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 04:15:21] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'portal2')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 04:15:23] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'files')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 04:15:23] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'portal')
    127.0.0.1 [2011-12-19 04:15:25] 'Update subdomain DNS zone status' ('Domain Name': '' => 'mysaarbq.de', 'Subdomain Name': '' => 'portal')
     
  5. TristanR

    TristanR New Pleskian

    12
    85%
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem here.

    When I try to active subdomain, it says that either the domain owner or subscriber is inactive. This isn't the case. All other ressources of owner and subscriber work well.

    The problem appeared right after the upgrade to 10.4.4. This is a productive server environment, and a solution is needed asap.
     
  6. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    Parallels, we need a solution! Subdomains isn't a "nice to have" feature, it's a "MUST HAVE" option.
    We have major trouble with disabled projects on customer accounts.

    How can we escalate this bug.
     
  7. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,571
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
  8. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Plesk 10.4.4 MU#8 - Debian 5.0 - 32bit IA

    Some of the Subdomains are diabled some hours after upgrade to plesk 10.4.4. Not all customer accounts are affected. If I create a new subdomain this subdomain will be disabled within 24 hours. Reactivating the subdomain won't help because of error messages:

    ACTUAL RESULT
    Error: Some of the selected domains or aliases were not activated.
    Error: Unable to activate the domain: Either the domain owner or their subscription is suspended.
    Screenshot: http://minus.com/mOPQbFfUX

    EXPECTED RESULT
    Activating Subdomains

    ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
    Screenshot: http://minus.com/mOPQbFfUX
    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. TristanR

    TristanR New Pleskian

    12
    85%
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's exactly the same for me. And we are also in big trouble with disabled customer accounts. Each hour the projects are offline, it costs us a lot money.

    We need a solution yesterday!!

     
  10. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,571
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Do you have any related errors in logs

    /usr/local/psa/admin/logs/panel.log
    /var/log/sw-cp-server/error_log

    ?
     
  11. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    panel.log:

    2011-12-20T09:43:31+01:00 ERR (3): Unable to activate the domain: Either the domain owner or their subscription is suspended.
    2011-12-20T09:43:31+01:00 ERR (3): Some of the selected domains or aliases were not activated.
    2011-12-20T09:43:31+01:00 ERR (3): Unable to activate the domain: Either the domain owner or their subscription is suspended.

    Same entry in sw-cp-server/error_log
     
  12. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,571
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Thank you. I have forwarded it to developers of Plesk Service Team. I will update thread with results as soon as I receive them.
     
  13. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    I have found a workaround!

    The message "Either the domain owner or their subscription is suspended" inspired me.

    - Created a new customer
    - Moved the subscription with the disabled subdomains to the new customer
    - Suspended the new customer
    - activated the new customer -> subdomains are enabled now
    - Moved back the subscription to the original customer.

    Subdomains now working, but i will wait for tomorrow morning ;-)
     
  14. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    so.... after the workarround.. subdomains are enabled, but the entire domain is now inactive ;-)

    ...
     
  15. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    After trying to reproduce this and to reactivate the major domain it tryed this:

    - Moved the subscription to the new customer
    - suspended the new customer
    - moved back the subscription to the old active customer

    Error logged:
    Error: Unable to load object of type PhDomain with id=4: Turn on domain failed:
     
  16. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    Subdomains deactivated

    After the last night, subdomains are back to inactive. No informations about that in log files.

    Parallels, we need a solution asap because our company website is down!

    Is it possible that the error occurs after scheduled backups?
     
  17. kadoudal

    kadoudal Regular Pleskian

    27
    23%
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    testing again

    I juts created a brand new subdomain on another server ( Debian Squeeze / 10.4.4 Update #7, last updated at Dec 17, 2011 06:02 AM)

    creation OK both DNS on master mode ( domain and subdomain)
    can view them

    just wait and see ....

    Erwin
     
  18. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    I think this isnt't a problem of new subdomains.

    I have made some more investigations about that, and I mean its possible that the problem is a part of database inconsistences. DNS zone sync is also broken since 10.4.4, and the affected subdomains are part of the unsynced zones. The next thing I found that 2 accounts are affected, and both are the only one with scheduled backups at night and the option to disable webhosting during backup..... so my assumption is that the subdomains cannot be reactivated after backing up.

    Lets see what happend, I have now synced DNS zones and disabled the deactivation option during backups. :)
     
  19. kadoudal

    kadoudal Regular Pleskian

    27
    23%
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll check it .. as the failing domain/subdomains have scheduled backup ! the new test domain/subdomain on another server doesn't have scheduled backup..... will look into it tonight
     
  20. Powie

    Powie Regular Pleskian

    25
    90%
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilmtal
    @IgorG

    Bingo: After the nightly backup the subdomains of one account arent disabled anymore.

    I have only disabled the option: Suspend domain until backup task is completed
     
Loading...