1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Backup/Restore from one server to another

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by Alasdairrr, Apr 21, 2006.

  1. Alasdairrr

    Alasdairrr Guest

    0
     
    Hi Everyone,

    We're planning a migration from a Plesk server in one datacenter, to a Plesk server in another datacenter.

    To minimise downtime, we plan to move groups of clients, say 20 - 50, from one server to the other. We're handling the DNS on a separate server, and have set the TTL's to 60, so we don't need to worry about that aspect.

    What I was planning on doing, is to run the psadump utility for X number of clients, move the dump over, and do a restore, then update the DNS. Requests should then go to the new server. Repeat until all clients are moved.

    While for psadump you can disable it starting/stopping services, there seems to be no way to stop psarestore stopping/starting services. Obviously we don't want any downtime, so this seems unacceptable, as every time we perform a restore, Apache, MySQL, etc, will be unavailable for the duration.

    Is there any way to stop psarestore stopping services?

    If not, can anyone recommend another method of migrating the clients across?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Alasdairrr

    Alasdairrr Guest

    0
     
    Not to worry - I found a (crude) way to stop the starting and stopping of services during a restore.

    I simply made a copy of psarestore, and removed the offending lines from the code (It's a basic Perl script).
     
  3. Traged1

    Traged1 Guest

    0
     
    If you have two seperate servers then you can leave the first once running while the other is restoring the dump file. The only thing is that you might lose any changes in data during the restore time. Which can actually take quite a long time.
     
Loading...