• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

CentOS 5 newbie install

laughingbuddha

Regular Pleskian
Hi,

I'm a Linux/Unix newbie. Played with Red Hat once or twice back in the late 90's but never in a web hosting enviroment.

I'm looking to install CentOS 5 64bit (some users recommend it) on my Dell PowerEdge 3250 server. Brief spec is 2 x 1.4GHZ Intel Itanium2 processors (400Mhz FSB with 4MB L3 Cache), 1GB Memory (256MB x 4), 2 x HP U320 SCSI 15K rpm 72GB HDD's, CD Rom Drive.

1. When installing the OS, to I need to install PHP, MySQL, Apache, FTP (of some kind), and a Firewall or does the Plesk installer do this for me??

2. Can Plesk handle 2 hard drives for storage? Instead of running RAID Mirror I plan to use both drives for storage and run some kind of back up script (no idea yet) to run a nightly back up to an external 2.5" usb hard drive.

Help please of mighty Plesk and Linux guru's

Matt :confused:

1. Read the fine manual. (No, you don't need to. Do a minimal install and then use Plesk's autoinstaller to install the rest.)

2. You could do whatever you want with those drives. Span partitions across those drives using LVM or mount the first as / and the second as /var or whatever. Plesk won't care whether your filesystem is on one or two drives. Just know that mail, DB and web files will go under /var, so you'll want plenty of space there.

(I definitely recommend using RAID 1 by the way.)

Hi Matt,

I've recently been doing the exact same thing (albeit 32-bit), having previously always used Fedora, so I thought I'd give you a 'how-to' based entirely on my experiences (so it's not neccesarily gospel, but it's worked fine for me):

1. Start the CentOS installer by booting from cd/dvd.