• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

DNS propagation

D

dihsar

I am a newbie to plesk and i just added my first domain to my server yesterday and i can preview the domain in the control panel but i can't access it through its url : www.domain.com

And when i contacted the support team i was told my DNS had probably not propagated yet.My question is how long does it take to propagate?And eventhough a whois search indicated the domain is pointing to the right name servers,can it still mean it has not propagated yet?Please help

[Brief response - this is just a quickie response]

Are the name servers shown in the whois pointing to your Plesk server, or are they external DNS servers?

Have you done a www.dnsreport.com on your domain to see if it shows any DNS abnormalities?

DNS propagation does sometimes take days (or more) to actually hit all the DNS servers (especially the caching servers).

So first run a dnsreport and wait another day or two.

To get around this limit, you could set your workstation's primary DNS server to use your Plesk box as the default.

Also try pointing your browser to the http:<ip address> and see if it comes up. This assumes that you have set the default domain for the IP address in the control panel.

Originally posted by dihsar
I am a newbie to plesk and i just added my first domain to my server yesterday and i can preview the domain in the control panel but i can't access it through its url : www.domain.com

And when i contacted the support team i was told my DNS had probably not propagated yet.My question is how long does it take to propagate?And eventhough a whois search indicated the domain is pointing to the right name servers,can it still mean it has not propagated yet?Please help