• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved Does Plesk Obsidian 18 have a maintenance mode?

asmithjd

New Pleskian
Server operating system version
Ubuntu 22
Plesk version and microupdate number
Plesk Obsidian 18
Hello,
I recently had a Laravel framework software installed on my server, it works great and fast. However, the script doesn't come with a built-in maintenance mode.
My goal is to prevent the public from accessing my site while I work on it.
1. Does Plesk have a maintenance mode? and Will this maintenance mode allow me to work on the script without showing the site to the public?
2. If Plesk doesn't have a maintenance mode, is there a workaround I could use?

Thank you in advance I appreciate any help.
Side note, I am not a professional dev, more like a hobbyist, but I am great at following instructions :)

Hi @asmithjd , thank you for posting here. There is no general maintenance mode function for websites in Plesk. WP Toolkit has a maintenance mode, but this does not fit your case.

Instead, maybe you can create a subdomain for developing and testing purposes and publish your final version to the main domain once it is ready for public access?

Hi,

Laravel has a maintenance mode, which you can enable via the Laravel Toolkit:

You can enable it with php artisan down

Visitors on your website will see a "503 | Service Unavailable" page,

Schermafbeelding 2023-03-02 om 17.29.46.png

Last edited:
Hello,

Thank you for the response.
I had to install the laravel extension on my Plesk dashboard, but the toolkit is not fully installed. If I install the laravel toolkit skeleton will it break any of the existing laravel code? or am I safe to install the toolkit skeleton?