• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Question Getting regular spikes in Apache & php-fpm memory usage for some reason?

PortMacOnline

New Pleskian
Hi all,
I have been using computers since 1985, but a noob with Plesk, so please be gentle! :)

I have a Vultr server (2 gb, 1vCPU) running Ubuntu 18.04/Plesk Obsidian to manage at present 11 WP small business websites.

Over a 24 hour period the memory usage is usually only around 20-25%, but I am getting warnings on a regular basis that the "Apache and php-fpm memory usage is critical" then a few minutes later it is okay again.

Looking at the Advanced Monitor, the problem seems to be sw_mem-Web:ps_rss:Value which is using up to 800MB of memory in a very short time, then dropping it. But I have NO idea what this process is, or why it is using up so much memory so quickly, so less than no idea how to fix the problem. Any suggestions, beyond RTFM?

Cheers,
Terry Chadban

There might be nothing wrong, these alerts are more or less of an informative nature. Not that they aren't real, it just that they are too vague to be solely relied upon.

You'll have to resort to additional tools to get more information. Take a peek into the site and server logs to see what's happening when these surges happen, refer to tools such as top or htop and sysstat, etc..

I'd be looking at the web site traffic first, either legitimate or some bot activity.

@Ales, thanks for the input, but I have eleven websites on the server, so a lot of site/server logs to check when I don't even know what I am supposed to be looking for! I will check out your suggestions for tools, but when I get a warning marked 'Critical', I don't think it is too much to ask for Plesk to give me a bit more information?