1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice

help needed on psadump

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by atomicmak, Jan 19, 2005.

  1. atomicmak

    atomicmak Guest

    0
     
    i want to know

    what does psadump -F will backup ?

    i want to backup my system with mysql, postgresql, sitedata, logs, reports, subdomains, mails everything.

    does psadump will work ?

    and how would i do regular backup through cron ?

    would anybody help me on this ?
     
  2. lvalics

    lvalics Silver Pleskian Plesk Guru

    36
    43%
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Romania
    I have an example for you:

    create in a place like /home/backup (or where you have space) files with domains, like.
    let's say you have different clients, like client1, client2 ...

    create a file client1 and place all his domains into it.
    ex:
    test.com
    test2.com

    Then
    /usr/local/psa/bin/psadump --do-not-dump-logs --domains-names client1 -F -f /home/client1backupdump

    This will do a full backup of your domain, except LOGS.

    TO restore, use
    /usr/local/psa/bin/psarestore -f client1backupdump -m mapclient1 -s shellclient

    You can add to cron if you want ...
     
  3. atomicmak

    atomicmak Guest

    0
     
    will -F can do full system backup and will that backup mails data also ?
     
  4. lvalics

    lvalics Silver Pleskian Plesk Guru

    36
    43%
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes, do a full backup ...
     
  5. atomicmak

    atomicmak Guest

    0
     
    i have run this on my server and it took backup finished with out put showed here.

    command i run

    /usr/local/psa/bin/psadump -F --nostop --nostop-domain -f - | gzip | split -b 300m - /home2/dump/backup.
    ===============================================
    files taken backup of 2.6gb
    [root@ns3 dump]# ls -lh
    total 2.6G
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 300M Jan 25 11:33 backup.aa
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 300M Jan 25 11:39 backup.ab
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 300M Jan 25 11:44 backup.ac
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 300M Jan 25 11:49 backup.ad
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 300M Jan 25 11:53 backup.ae
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 300M Jan 25 11:57 backup.af
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 300M Jan 25 12:01 backup.ag
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 300M Jan 25 12:07 backup.ah
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 235M Jan 25 12:11 backup.ai

    ===============================================

    does this mean that it has taken my system fullbackup with site, log, mails, database, cron, mailinglist, psadata everythign ?

    cuz my disk space usage is 14gb and psadump taken backup as in 2.6GB only and finished successfully.

    can someone guide me ?
     
  6. lvalics

    lvalics Silver Pleskian Plesk Guru

    36
    43%
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Romania
    1. You have used GZIP so is compressed.
    2. It will backup all PLESK data, not your Linux files, etc.
    So only /home/httpd/vhost/ and PSA settingsan databases.

    I hope this help.
     
  7. atomicmak

    atomicmak Guest

    0
     
    so that it means.

    psadump has taken

    site,
    logs,
    mails,
    database,
    cron,
    mailniglists

    all things backedup ?

    sorry but new to this and dont wanna loose anything .
     
  8. nickpick

    nickpick Guest

    0
     
    psadump

    The psa dump will backup everything.
    So in case your system crashes, you can quickly and easily bring it back to the status it was during the backup.

    BUT BE AWARE !

    I read throughout this forum that everybody is putting the dumps/backups in his server on the harddisk.
    Please, all of you, bring a little sense in your life. Please FTP this backups to a save place. Meaning to another place than your local harddisk.
    Need I say more?
     
  9. mrbister

    mrbister Guest

    0
     
    Hi!

    Can someone tell me why the "| split -b 300m - /backup." option does not work when using remote (ftp) backup? Tried 5 times now with diff. paths, same issue. Can someone post a example of a remote backup with split option (how it should be typed so it works).

    Thanks.
     
Loading...