1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice

How to get rid of hostname as a NS record in MS DNS?

Discussion in 'Plesk for Windows - 8.x and Older' started by torwill, Nov 6, 2005.

  1. torwill

    torwill Basic Pleskian

    23
    57%
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I just started using MS-DNS. And I have made sure that only the two NS in my dns template in Plesk cp,

    domain. NS dns1.myhost.tld.
    domain. NS dns2.myhost.tld.

    But everytime I add a new domain, there is a third NS record

    domain.NS myhostname.tld.


    How could I get rid of "domain.NS myhostname.tld." ? So when a new domain is added, there will be only 2 NS record.

    Thank you.
     
  2. igoldman

    igoldman Regular Pleskian

    26
    23%
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    you need to change the DNS template.
    it's located under server > DNS
     
  3. js1904

    js1904 Guest

    0
     
    Hi

    Did you ever solved this problem?

    I have 2 NS servers, and my NS1 is also my Plesk.
    I'm using Windows DNS, and everytime I create a new domain, NS1 is created - but not my NS2.

    So I everytime I manually need to open MS DNS, add NS2, move the dot on the nameserver tab, and change the SOA primary server.

    Then I need to create a seconday forward lookup zone on my NS2, and point out NS1.

    This works - but it's a bit annoying :)

    Any ideas? :rolleyes:

    Happy new year!
     
  4. igoldman

    igoldman Regular Pleskian

    26
    23%
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK.

    first of all you need to understand that there is no point that you use 2 DNS servers which are running on the same physical server.

    now ,
    what you have to do is to edit the DNS template of your server.
    this locate on the following Place:

    Plesk CP > server > DNS

    and edit the Primary DNS template of your server.

    what you have to do is:
    to have 2 records which there type are NS

    after that you have to create manually in MS DNS 2 A records that points to the IP which MS DNS listen to Port 53 (DNS)
     
Loading...