• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Need help with DNS and mail server settings

egomaniacXFR

New Pleskian
Hello,

situation is this:
A few friends of mine want to own a board (about soccer) and asked me to help them. They've rented a cloud server from the german provider 1&1, I've got it set up with Plesk and bought and installed Wolt Labs Burning Board. No big problems until now.

One of my friends bought a domain and I inserted it into Plesk. First I noticed that I couldn't access the board by the domain name. To set the board up I instead connected to it by using the IP adress with "/index.php?board-list/" attached to it. But of course I want to change this, however I don't know exactly how since I'm not a pro at this.

So, the 3 problems now are:

1. Instead of accessing the board, I just see a "Domain Default page" saying
If you are seeing this message, the website for #.#.#.# is not available at this time.

If you are the owner of this website, one of the following things may be occurring:

• You have not put any content on your website.
  • Your provider has suspended this page.
when I'm entering the IP adress (without the "/index.php?board-list/" at the end).

2. I can't access the website by using the domain name. I guess the DNS server settings aren't right, but don't know what exactly is wrong.

3. I made an email adress with Plesk. It's using the domain name and I think that might be the problem why it's not working correctly. I entered the email adress in BB and selected php as method. Unfortunately it's not sending any email. In the menu I saw that Plesk just put them in the queue. Back in BB, this time I selected SMTP instead of php but as soon as I try to send a mail, I'll receive an error message saying it couldn't connect to the domain.