• Debian 11 is approaching its end-of-life (vendor EOL date - August 31, 2026). Plesk Obsidian 18.0.80 will be the last release to support it.
    If you are running Plesk Obsidian on Debian 11, we recommend you upgrade those servers to Debian 12 using our dist-upgrade tool.
  • We plan to deprecate and remove the support for XML RPC protocol versions earlier than 1.6.9.1 in Plesk Obsidian 18.0.82. We strongly recommend that you update all existing integrations using earlier versions of the XML RPC protocol to comply with the version 1.6.9.1 specification.

Resolved Need to delete folder before restore?

CGI1979

Basic Pleskian
We had the case, that a full restore in the backupmanager did not resolve the problems in the website.
After we deleted the folder and restored again the problems disappeared.

What does restore exactly do and is it always recommended to delete a folder before restoring it?

Thanks,
Chris
 
Hi CGI1979,

unfortunately, you don't provide enough informations about:
the problems in the website
... which makes it impossible to investigate possible issues/errors/problems.

What does restore exactly do
The restore replaces files and folders with the ones from your backup, but doesn't change the existing permissions.

is it always recommended to delete a folder before restoring it
No, not necessarily; but you should keep in mind, that existing permissions are not changed, when you overwrite files and folders from your backup. For this goal, you should consider to use the Plesk Repair Utility with the example command:
Code:
plesk repair fs example.com -y -v


Additional informations and documentations:

 
Back
Top