• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

PHP: open_basedir restriction in effect. PHP/OwnCloud question regarding Plesk setup:

maybeageek

New Pleskian
Hi Community,

I am somewhat new to Plesk, however not Linux or OwnCloud.

Somehow I have a problem updating my owncloud instance I installed using a subdomain created through plesk. From the logfile it seems there are open_basedir restrictions in effect, but I can't find them anywhere.

Usually I would find them in the php.ini, but there are non in the general php.ini and there is no php.ini for this subdomain.

Additionally I am a little baffled for the PHP settings with Plesk in general. For example I can set file upload-limits how much I like in plesk or through console in what file I want, the owncloud always limits itself to 512MB. Since this is also a php setting I wonder if I am missing a config file plesk put somewhere and that is being used or if plesk is somehow ignoring the values I put in through the web interface.

Any help is apreciated, and any further info that is needed will be proivided :)

Thanks again,

maybeageek

Server: Ubuntu 14.04 (all updates)
Plesk: 12.0.18 Update #49

@maybeageek,

Plesk Panel is using a php.ini file, depending on the way php is being executed.

For instance, with the standard setting "Run PHP as FastCGI application", the actual php.ini file used is /etc/php5/cli/php.ini.

You can find out which php.ini file is being used, by issuing the php --ini command on a command line.

However, do not change that php.ini file.

The php.ini file used by a specific domain or subdomain is different (the location thereof is not really relevant).

One can set the PHP settings for each domain or subdomain individually, just go the tab "Website & Domains", click "PHP Settings" and change settings (if required).