• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Plesk 7,6 - Web Hosting

M

mysticBoer

Good day, I recently got a new dedicated server from www.meganetserve.com. Their service has been amazing, and response to support calls extremely fast. They are, unfortunately, not a web hosting company, but a large scale dedicated hosting company, so my questions about plesk, web hosting, etc is not meant for their support...

I have a few questions though that I need to ask, seeing that I am new to the hosting scene.

Question 1:
My domain, e.g example.com, is currently administered by UK2.net. My hosting expires with them at the end of the month so I want to transfer my website to my own server. What does this all intail??In detail if possible?:rolleyes:

Question 2:
What is the hierarchical nature of plesk? Is a client also a reseller (this is how I understand it at the moment)

Question 3:
If my domain is www.example.com, how will I set up nameservers like ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com? Seeing that I want to provide hosting to clients, I need to be able to do this...

I hope to have a reply from anyone here soonest...

Thanx...

Question 1:
My domain, e.g example.com, is currently administered by UK2.net. My hosting expires with them at the end of the month so I want to transfer my website to my own server. What does this all intail??In detail if possible?:rolleyes:

Judging by the question, you are at the beginning of a long journey, but a fruitful one nonetheless. I am by no means an expert, but I'll try to help.

First, a domain name is registered to you through a Registrar. This is where you purchased or transferred your domain name. UK2.net may act as a host and registrar.