• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Upgrade from 8.2 to 8.4 error

C

commuterzombie

Hi everyone, this is my first post and it's a long one. This has been doing my nut in and I hope you can help. Please bear in mind that this is my first time using Plesk for Windows, and I think I might have done something wrong...

I have a web server running Windows 2003 Web edition. On that webserver I had Plesk for Windows 8.2, just running with mySQL. That all worked fine for a couple of months, until a friend asked me to host a site that used MSSQL express. I downloaded MSSQL, installed it (using SA authentication for the default instance) and got it all running. I then tried to add it as a database server in Plesk, but the MSSQL option never appeared in the Server/Databases section of the Plesk GUI. Restarting the Plesk services, rebooting the server & repair installs of both Plesk & MSSQL all failed to get Plesk to recognise the existence of MSSQL.

I then decided to try 8.4, reasoning that when it installed it would detect MSSQL. I installed 8.4 from the downloadable installer. After the install completed I noticed that the control panel wasn't started in the Plesk Services monitor. I started it manually and attempted to browse to the web interface (on localhost:8443). I get the warning about the SSL certificate, and then just see the message 'Service Unavailable' in my browser.

Again, rebooting the server, restarting all of the Plesk services etc. has failed to correct the problem. I can manually start the Plesk control panel service without error messages appearing, but attempting to access the web GUI stops the service.