• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved Advice on OS/host/solution

Daniel Hendricks

New Pleskian
I'm just getting started with Plesk 17.5 (coming from WHM/cPanel). I have experienced many issues and I'm trying to work through them. Current, remaining issues:
  1. SELinux doesn't like alternate vhosts directory (which is documented, though somewhat ambiguously)
  2. Clicking "Web Statistics" on any of my domains yields a 404 error.
  3. While Plesk Admin and the sites themselves are running very fast, when I click "Log In as Reseller," it is cripplingly slow.
I was contemplating starting over (which would be quite painful, since I already migrated a lot of things). So, if I do that, I'd like some advice on what would suit me best as I don't want to do it again.

I'm currently hosted on DigitalOcean, CentOS 7, Plesk 17.5.3 Update #27.

The Questions
  1. Which has fewer problems - CentOS 7 or Ubuntu 16.04? Despite preferring Ubuntu, I chose CentOS for the Imunify 360 support. However, I don't need that. I don't really care about flavors - I just want it to work as smoothly as possible.
  2. Should I stick with DigitalOcean? I really like D.O., but the Reseller panels are way too slow to use. Would I have a better experience with an AWS image? The "WordPress Server Solution" looks expensive, so I was thinking a BYOL and just add what need/want. (I'm aware that it's the same product, but I thought there might be a chance that it was configured better.)
  3. I see that the AWS Business and WordPress solutions let you use BoldGrid Premium Plus without being a "partner." Can someone verify this? The wording is ambiguous. They didn't accept my partnership application.