• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Issue Emails are not delivered nor received

Patashoow

Basic Pleskian
Server operating system version
Ubuntu 20.04
Plesk version and microupdate number
Hello,

I have Plesk Obsidian 18.0.47 with Ubuntu 20.04 and I'm having huge problems with emails.

I don't really know where to start as I'm quite new to server configurations.

When I try to send an email (either with Roundcube or from a script), the email is sent but never received by the recipient. When I check the queue, it first says "Active messages queue" and then "Deferred messages queue".

When I try to send an email from an external email address (hotmail for example) to my own email address related to my domain, I have the following error message "Remote server returned unknown recipient or mailbox unavailable".

I don't know if it has something to do with DNS configuration or is it about something else but at this point, any help is welcome.

Thanks.

If you have any problems with your emails, you should first examine the main Plesk mail log file /var/log/maillog for error records related to the problem.
Sometimes the command to fix the mail settings can help:

# plesk repair mail

Thank you for your reply. I've just checked the maillog file and it's empty.

There's also one thing, when I compare DNS records in Plesk and those in my host panel, they are a bit different so is it normal?

Yes that's what I'm suspecting especially when I compare the records in Plesk and those in my host panel. Is there anything I can refer to to get the configuration right?