• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Error: system user update is failed: Unable to create system user: usermng: PAM passw

adetokunbod

New Pleskian
Hello developers I am very new to plesk and it is really frustrating me the above error is what I get when I tried to update an hosting account on my platform I have used cpanel severally and no problem but this I dont have a clue why it is happening beased on what was suggested from one of your website (http://kb.parallels.com/113586 and http://kb.parallels.com/en/113760) seems not to be working or the symptoms so to speak.

I have have also tried to change the permission on the some of the password files such as shadow and shadow- files in the /etc/ folder in the root directory of the system. still no clue.

what resulted into this problem was a problem that I was trying to fix a magento mcrypt requirement which i need to install the mcrypt manually as some of the online forums and websites suggested. but root password authentication was not allowing me through the ssh, thought was from the website tried putty still no progress and and i used to login with root before with the admin password via ssh before this was a new thing so i decided to follow (http://aphoniastream.me.uk/recover-root-password-on-plesk-10-server/) however it got me into the above problem when I realize its just replacing what ever encrypted password on the root line in the shadow file with another known encrypted password of any other account which I eventually used one of the accounts password i know in my hosting vps account because the system is a vps and now i am just not understanding why everything is so complicated.

Sorry for anyone reading this i need to just be clear as much as possible because this is annoying to me as I have no clue of what is going on.