• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved How to download a full backup of plesk (not only the .xml file, but the full server backup)

Dave_K

New Pleskian
Hi There!

I'm relatively new to Plesk (and to this forum), I have Plesk running on a VPS, which I want to reinstall, but before I do that I want to download a full backup.

It seems that if I download a "full" backup from the backup manager in Plesk, it only downloads a XML file with references (which is only a few kb in size).
I'm going to completely erase the VPS so any references in the XML will become obsolete, that's why I would like to download a full (cold, super big) backup which I can store on an external hard drive.

I have searched for an answer on Google and made a quick search on this forum but I couldn't find an answer to the above.

I would really appreciate someones advice on this matter, thank you in advance.

Kind regards,
Dave

Last edited:
What do you see when you go to Tools&Settings > Backup Manager? Do you create backups stored remotely on the FTP server or are they stored locally?
For example, on my Plesk server, I see full and incremental backups stored on remote FTP server and I can download them:

Screenshot 2020-08-27 at 11.13.36.png

Hi Igor, thank you for your reply.
I haven't setup remote storage yet, I thought I could download the full 305 MB (see picture below) to my local computer by clicking the green download arrow:
Schermafbeelding 2020-08-27 om 10.17.21.png

But when I click the green download arrow, instead it only downloads a 26KB Tar file containing an XML:
Schermafbeelding 2020-08-27 om 10.18.30.png