• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

qmail & greylisting spam control

B

bmeshier

For those looking for a simple, maintenance free spam solution, check out greylisting. It's highly effective (far more than spamassasin and the like). Before you continue, I suggest reading the white paper to get a firm grasp of what greylisting is:
http://projects.puremagic.com/greylisting/whitepaper.html

I've rolled together qmail 1.03 with greylisting support specifically compiled for Plesk servers (includes SW Soft's qmail patches). I've tested on 7.1.x, 7.5.x and 8.0.x systems. I've been running it on 4 production servers for the last 18 months, without problems. It will reduce server load dramatically on systems with high mail volume. I've repackaged qmail in to a tarball and will provide the source code upon request. I can also install on your server.

Instructions and source here:
http://meshier.com/2006/09/18/adding-greylisting-support-to-qmail-on-plesk-8/

Brent Meshier
http://carbonblock.net/
[email protected]

What is the basic retry queue time from an healty mail server?
Some told me its around 4 hours. This means that the server is not accepting the email for the first 4 hours. Unhandy if an customer is waiting for an subscripe mail..

What is your experience with this?

That patch WILL NOT work with Plesk servers. My HOW-TO is for Plesk users as the forum suggests. From the qgreylist page, it clearly states that qgreylist is not compatable with SMTP AUTH., which is just one of many reasons why it doesn't work with Plesk. Also, qgreylist is not a true implementation as developed by Evan Harris (puremagic.com)

bmeshier, thanks for your howto, i'll test it on the test server asap. Are you able to put this tar ball on the internet

Ok, did some testing but i dont get it running.