• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Question Security, security and more security!

Tr3Mendo

New Pleskian
Hi! :)

I've been working with servers and plesk for two years, but learning from tutorials.

Now I'm going to set up my own dedicated server, but I'm pretty scared about security.

There are tutorials that say I need to install ClamAV and RKhunter on my server, regardless of the security of plesk. Within plesk, just the configuration of Fail2ban and Firewall, but ... Where is the truth of all this?

I am in your hands to advise me on the security of my new plesk server.

- What do I need to install on my server?
- What should be changed on the server (ssh, firewall)?
- Inside the plesk panel, what is the best configuration?

I think someone should do a good tutorial on security, it would be very acclaimed by all. Thank you very much community! :D

I am in your hands to advise me on the security of my new plesk server.
- What do I need to install on my server?
- What should be changed on the server (ssh, firewall)?
- Inside the plesk panel, what is the best configuration?

Hey there,
I'm no expert in Plesk or cybersecurity, but here are my 7 cents:

1) Start at Plesk University - Security course:
Plesk University

2) Step 2: follow the Advisor's recommendations and then:
How to secure a Plesk server

3) Step 3: BACKUP your settings and your server instance (if on cloud) or image your full OS (if you're on bare metal), and then:
https://support.plesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/213928005-Plesk-security-best-practices

4) Step 4: BACKUP and then install Google Authenticator and enable 2FA on your Plesk admin.
Use 2FA and optionally IP filter on ALL logins.
Create and use only SSH keys for logining into Plesk and your domains.