• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Upgrading 9.x to 10.x, fails with multiple errors and RPM reports 2 versions

Tony_C

New Pleskian
Hi

I'm brand new to working with Plesk. I'm confident and experienced at working with a variety of PC/Linux/Unix systems and web servers, but I don't know what to do about this problem.

The system I have just taken over was on an old version of Plesk - 9.0 I think. I was able to upgrade a few versions, but I am stuck. The website is on a self-hosted Linux platform with 1&1.

I am hosted by 1&1, if that helps.

Plesk version: 9.3.0 reported at login screen, and on all the pages I normally work with; 9.5.4 is reported as my current version on the upgrade screen.

OS: 2.6.18-028stab094.3 #1 SMP Thu Sep 22 12:47:37 MSD 2011 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Problem: Unable to successfully upgrade to Plesk 10.x; Plesk reports 2 different versions, and various shell commands report different versions.

Initial problem, hopefully unrelated: I was on a 9.0.x version of Plesk and ran various upgrades (past history has taught me that unless you know everything about your software, don't upgrade past several major releases). One of these upgrades stalled (it claimed there was resource over-use and "the service is not available now") and the only page I could view was the licence page. It told me my licence was invalid. I contacted 1&1 tech support, and they said they "gave me a new key". I need to stress that I know nothing about licensing - I worry that my upgrades may have caused problems, and in the discussions that will hopefully follow about my problem, I would be grateful if someone could help me address this so I can understand my position.

Now, on to the problem I've currently got.

Detail: