• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Webmail / Nameservers

T

tomyknoker@

Hi All,

Total newbie here so forgive me if my questions are basic. Ok first of all, I have a (dv) through MediaTemple. They provide a simple control panel of there won but then everything else is done through Plesk. I loaded the Plesk CP and entered in all my details, which it now has, and added my domain.com and associated the IP with this. How do I use webmail? Do I need to host my won account? Meaning do I have to set up hosting?

My next question is how do I set up my namevservers? Like ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com...

Any help would be much appreciated!

Cheers,
Tom

By default when you add a domain in Plesk it creates a name server for you which is ns.<domain>

For example, if your domain is domain.com, the nameserver would be ns.domain.com.

Although it's not recommended to have both your name servers on the same computer, it is possible.

On the left hand side, click Server in the system sub-section, then click DNS. Click add new record then enter the following :

Record type : NS
Enter Domain Name : LEAVE BLANK
Enter IP address : ns2.<domain>

Then click OK.

Then click Create Record again. This time create a record as follows :

Record type : A
Enter Domain Name : ns2.<domain>
Enter IP address : <ip>

Click OK. This will then create a new name server for your server. Assuming you're using the default settings ( which you should be ) your nameservers will be

ns.your-domain-name.com and
ns2.your-domain-name.com

You could always change the default nameserver to be ns1 ... if you wanted to follow convention. You should see how that's done when you follow the steps above.