• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

DNS control - Setup

G

George_fs

Hi All,

I have purchased a VPS server from 1 & 1 and it comes loaded with Plesk. I am a web developer and plans to host many of my customers website on this server. i am not a technical expert and i would like to get some help on setting up dns from plex panel

The server comes with Plesk panel 11 . When i create a customer domain i get a control panel which already has all DNS setting configured in plesk . But i understand that will not work as the domain are in godday. Now most of my customers Domains are in godaddy. I belive there are two ways to do this

First is to point the domain to my servers name servers and then control dns from hosting . Does anyone know how this can be done.

The second option is to create all dns enteries in godaddy and point it to my VPS server. i was able to create an A record and point it to my server ip and my website worked fine. When i tried to create a MX record , it informed that i cannot point MX to an iP. can somebody guide how to create an hostname to get it working

Can somebody give me the best solutions for this

All Help is much appreciated

regards

George

I hope it help.

Add your main domain name in VPS with particular Dedicated IP and then create NS record in Domain DNS setting and then add NS record on your DOMAIN ADMIN PANEL with dedicated IP as you added in VPS' Domain DNS settings.
example
ns1.yourmaindomain.com A 192.192.192.192
ns2.yourmaindomain.com A 192.192.192.193
Add the above said DNS entires in DOMAIN ADMIN panel if you did this step and it will help you redirect all the things not only A record of domain.[/COLOR][/B]

Please create a MX record at Godaddy end with Server IP as you did with A record and then it will work.