• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Install Command Via SSH

B

Bitzdirect

Hi All

I am a total newbie to SSH etc. and would be grateful if someone can share the ssh command to install yum as we need to update our mysql to version 4 for one of our accounts.

We had a reseller account and have just upgraded to a linux vps server which is running plesk 8.0 so all is new to us.

If anyone can help also provide step by step installation or a link maybe where we can view documentation so we can get our database upgraded we would be very grateful or if not i am willing to pay for someone to upgrade the database let me know costs etc.

Thanks
Alan

What OS is on the box? If it is a RedHat type version it should have yum installed already. See if /etc/yum.conf exists. If not try using up2date to install yum.

#up2date -i yum

Originally posted by phoenixisp
What OS is on the box? If it is a RedHat type version it should have yum installed already. See if /etc/yum.conf exists. If not try using up2date to install yum.

#up2date -i yum

Hi

Thank you for your reply our OS is Fedora Core according to the box stats also i dont think yum is installed as i done the commands as mentioned but we get: No such file or directory or command not found.

Many Thanks
Alan

Installing yum on a VPS is not something you can do with a single command. Do you need to install custom software? Otherwise you don't really need yum as your provider should keep your VPS up to date.

My VPS provider will not update by box, they say it's my responsibility and Yum was not installed on my VPS. Had to do that myself. And finding the right yum to install on legacy OS's was a real pain....